Blogging Course – Day 2 – Titles and Taglines

So this lesson goes through customizing your blog and setting up your blog title and tag line.  I’ve already done that.  But I can do as they suggest and write about why I’ve chosen them.

The title is actually pretty simple.  It’s a known thing among my friends, and somewhat of an inside joke, that I can’t be left to my own devices or “trouble” happens.  It’s always been that way.  And it’s not always “bad” trouble.  Usually, it’s just something that makes me turn beet red while everyone in a 50 foot radius stares at me with a mixture of horror, pity or amusement.   It’s usually a smart ass comment that gets me in trouble, too.

For example – a few years ago (probably 10 or so now) a couple friends and I went to Victoria, Canada one New Years.  Now, for those who have never been – it’s little England.  We’d gone to dinner at the Keg and the lobby was packed.  Like, we were sardines in there – people literally pressing into our backs.  One friend and I were going back and forth, cracking jokes on anything and everything.  We had people around us laughing their asses off.   I already had a couple “trouble” moments earlier (we were in the lobby for a long time waiting for a table).

At one point, the door opens.  All I see at first is a shit-kicker and the brim of a cowboy hat.  Totally unexpected.  Me being me and having the timing I do – in total shock, I told my friends “Holy shit, it’s a cowboy!”  Of course, the music stops as soon as I speak.  I swear the hostesses planned it.  So, here I am, almost yelling it because if I don’t, I won’t be heard over the music…which is no longer playing.  Dude walks in, looks right at me and grins this cat-ate-the-canary grin.  Busted.

See?  You just can’t leave me to my own devices.

dorkpoints.jpg

The tagline is simple too.  I read it in the book I’m working on currently – Becoming a Slave by Jack Rinella.  It’s a quote from there.  I added it to the blog as a reminder, because I need it.  I need to remind myself to find my own truth and then to remain true to that me.  It’s a reminder that I want a healthy relationship at some point in my life and that the only way to build it is if I’m healthy and true to myself.  It’s a reminder that giving myself in submission doesn’t mean I’m giving myself up.  I don’t want to do that again.

So, there you have it, what the title and tagline mean to me and where they came from.

Leave a Reply

